Beauty Vs Intellect – yes that ridiculous question.

Now, I was at a social gathering of sorts, and the question ‘is it better to be beautiful or intelligent?’ was posed. This inspired a surprising amount of debate. I say surprising because the answer is obvious. It is of course better to be beautiful. That sounds very shallow you say, well yes it is, but unfortunately the natural way of the world is incredibly shallow. Here is my reasoning.

People are naturally drawn to those that are attractive, it is just an inevitability. A good looking person naturally has the advantage in any given situation. This I’m afraid is fact, it is simply a psychological matter, for some bizarre reason people warm to and trust a more attractive person far more than a balding overweight, toothless fellow. If said attractive person happens to have a certain amount of charm too, that will probably win over far more than say experience or any of that unnecessary shit. I would of course cite my research, but that is arduous and referencing makes me cry (Google some of this stuff, studies show that more attractive con-artists had a higher success rate.)

There is the obvious sexual matter, attractive people do better in that area obviously. We can spend all the time we want debating the quality of ‘inner’ beauty or other traits, ‘oh he/she is funny and whimsical and whatever’ they are only bonuses in this world if someone finds you attractive to begin with. I have never heard some one say ‘Well he/she had such interesting views on modern sociology that I just had to shag his/her brains out there and then.’ Or ‘That joke she/he told was so funny I came upon hearing the punch line.’

I have also noticed, people react differently to similar situations depending on how attractive the people involved are. For example, man makes crude sexual remark. If he has rugged good looks, it will be said ‘oh he’s just flirtatious and funny.’ An unattractive man however will be branded a pervert and people will reel back in horror, throwing whatever blunt object they have at hand in their general direction. Quick anecdote now, I remember in school, we were all sat in a circle, someone thought it rather funny to start a game that involved pinching the leg of the person directly next to them, then that person must continue and so on. It wasn’t a particularly complex game I’ll say that much, but it was a slow geography lesson and anything would have made it more entertaining. The game went on, boys pinched the legs of girls and it was in no way deemed sinister. Until of course the tubby/smelly unpopular kid had to pass it on to one of the more attractive members of the female sex. Then all hell broke loose. The girl (within her rights obviously) raised an immense fuss, teachers treated it with the upmost severity and the unpopular lad was sent out the class never to return. Now… notice how no one complained when the more popular, more attractive members of the male sex did this and vice versa. Just something to think about.

Attractive people will have sexual and romantic attention regardless of how dull, vindictive or disgusting their personalities are. This is fact. I have seen it. I am not bitter, I simply observe, I don’t blame people for following impulses that are only natural, I am simply answering the above debate.

[‘Your primary point Mr. Rambler, seems to revolve around sexual matters. There is more to life than sex is there not? — in response to that possible interjection you might want to make…. NO THERE IS NOT! IT’S ALL WE CARE ABOUT.]

The bonuses of being intelligent however are very limited. In fact… they are non-existent. If you prove to have a higher than average mental capacity, things are expected of you. Sure, perhaps you have a better chance at getting into university but that just means you have to do more work. I’m not saying attractive people don’t have to work, and that they have lower intelligence (in fact studies show the opposite — pointless studies that is) but I am approaching this in a vague, general way for the  question itself is just that.

Intelligence, is what makes you feel like shit. It’s what makes you look in the mirror and say, ‘well, comparatively I’m lucky if anyone will so much as look at me.’ It’s the thing that makes you think, ‘are these social interactions which I so dearly crave all simply, shallow and fickle, do we really care about anyone else or are we all here simply to self-serve and attempt to boost are own failing egos? Yes I’ll have another Campari and Gin please.’ or alternatively ‘oh what’s the fucking point in anything?’ Intelligence is what makes you think ‘am I living to my full potential, am I being selfish or should I be committing every essence of my being into bettering the world for all mankind?’

Even I look at intelligent people and expect them to save us all. Global warming, rising sea levels, global food shortages, I look blindly towards these intellectual types with wide despairing eyes that demand they ‘solve it’ and yet… I wouldn’t want to have sex with any of them… no that urge is reserved for attractive people.

I’m not saying there isn’t a blend of intellectual and attractive people, or that other characteristics aren’t important. I’m just saying, if you have a certain level of attractiveness on your side, you have an advantage over the people that don’t. Perhaps I’m just shallow, and insecure, in which case I apologise for wasting your time, but the question asked angered me enough to have to say all of this, which has subsequently led to me never being invited to a party again (I did sort of kill the mood with this rant).

All in all, this is a fairly pointless rant, as all these matters are infuriatingly subjective. I just felt the urge to do something to stop my brain from talking its inane babble. I do apologise.

The Fuzzy Rambler.

Leave a Reply

